Let’s Go to Camp! Summer Books for Kids

Summer is nearly upon us! Here in the Children’s Room, we see lots of families getting ready for road trips, camping, beach days, and summer camp. So here’s a roundup of a few of my favorite children’s books about many of our favorite summer activities.

Picture Books

The Airport Book

This picture book follows a family as they prepare for a flight and journey through an airport, so it’s the perfect introduction for kiddos new to or curious about air travel.

Away

A mother and daughter exchange sticky notes as they prepare for the girl’s first summer at camp.Image result for Away picture book sher

Camp Rex

A troupe of dino-scouts and their human friend go on a camping trip! Idle’s illustrations are a delight.

Jabari Jumps

In this year’s WFPL Children’s Book Award (picture book) winner, Jabari is convinced he’s ready to jump off the diving board–until he climbs up!

Image result for jabari jumps

There Might Be Lobsters

A little dog overcomes its anxiety about the ocean.


Chapter Books and Graphic Novels

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters 

In this chapter book, Alvin’s father hopes to instill a love of the outdoors in his anxious son.

81qkbi6ck0l.jpg

Be Prepared

In this graphic memoir, nine-year-old Russian-American Vera attends summer camp for the first time and struggles to find her place. This is a perfect read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jamieson.

Image result for Be Prepared brosgol

Gone Camping

In this short novel in verse, Lucy loves camping–until it’s time to go to bed. Will she be able to face her fears?

Lumberjanes, Volume 1: Beware the Kitten Holy

In this comic book series, five campers at Miss Quinzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hard-Core Lady-Types battle supernatural creatures, solve mysteries, and foster friendships. It’s funny, feminist, and (for what it’s worth) easily my all-time favorite comic series for folks of any age.

lumberjanes-friendship.jpg

The Penderwicks

On vacation with their father in the Berkshires, four sisters get up to mischief and share adventures with the boy next door.

Road Trip with Max and His Mom

In this chapter book, a boy named Max goes on a special road trip with his mom.


We can’t wait to hear about all your fun summer adventures. Don’t forget to stop by the library our check out our website for more information on this year’s Summer Reading Program!

-Kazia, Children’s Librarian

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s